19
Oct
07

Oak Park – Shumpert Declares

Iman Shumpert of Oak Park River Forest High School – my very own alma mater – announced the he will attend Georgia Tech next year. 

He was recruited by most of the biggest programs in the country, but narrowed the schools he was considering down to GT, Marquette, and North Carolina.  In the end not even Dwayne Wade’s personal recruiting phone calls could convince him to head to Marquette.  Georgia Tech will hopefully be a great fit for him.  Congratulations Iman!

I’m good friends with Iman’s brother, Odis, and while I don’t know Iman personally, I’m excited for him and his family.  I’m also excited because he’s by far the biggest thing to come out of OPRF since I was a freshman there back in ’97, and probably long before that.  I remember going to games and watching us get blown out by Corey Maggette back in his Fenwick days and Dee Brown back in his Proviso days.  I’ve watched Iman and the Huskies a couple of times over the last two seasons, but will definitely have to make it back for more games this season. 

Here is a good article about his decision.  Check it out.  It says he announced on Chicago Tribune Live.  I missed that, but if anyone knows where I can see that online please send me the link.

9 Responses to “Oak Park – Shumpert Declares”


  1. 1 Tyler Watkins
    October 28, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    It really seems unreal that OPRF has produced an athalete that is this good and this serious. I can’t remember anything too serous happening in the sports program there since Kerry Hays pitched softball. But then again, I hardly have a track record of paying close attention to sprorts related events. My question is; to what degree would you attribute, if any, the coaching program at OPRF for the sucess/skill of Iman? I remeber some bad coaches there, at least in the wrestling program — I didn’t like the football coaches much either. This makes me think that Iman is a result of his own raw skill and determination more than any classicly great coach at the high school. In your opinion, is this true?

  2. 2 312chill
    October 28, 2007 at 8:49 pm

    I agree that it seems unreal, especially because he’s a basketball player. OPRF, being just outside of Chicago, is usually blown out by other future NBA players as opposed to featuring them.

    I forgot all about Kerry Hayes. She was pretty impressive. I remember her pitching an entire month of no hit softball. That was however softball and thus much less exciting. I bet they’ve produced a lot of big deals in swimming or volleyball, but you don’t hear much about them because those athletes don’t go on to be rich and famous.

    Iman has been coached by coach Allen since he was a freshman. Having never played for coach Al I can’t say that I know how much he’s done for Iman. Al was my freshman year math teacher and while I strongly disliked him as a person, I will say he was very devoted to the basketball team. He was so devoted in fact that everyday he was on the phone making basketball related calls until half way through my first period class was over.

    This is just a guest, but I’d say Iman probably learned more and had his development helped more by his dad and his AAU/traveling team coaches. I know, from Odis, that their dad worked a lot with Iman at basketball since Iman was pretty young. Also, AAU coaches are often better than high school coaches because they can make more money (I think).

    To be a great basketball player fate, genes, or some kind of physical luck have to shine on you. This has happened for Iman. He’s currently 6’4″. It’s next to impossible for a player under 6′ to succeed in the NBA. It does happen, but not frequently. I’ve also read that his other natural athletic abilities are far better than your average high school player. These traits, combined with his own hard work, probably deserve the most credit in making him the player he is today.

    UPDATE: One of my friends is an assistant athletic director at Glenbard. They have a senior this year who will play at Northwestern. Comcast called her to ask if they could put the Oak Park vs. Glenbard game on TV this season and bill it as Shumpert vs. Glenbard guy. I’ll post the date of the game when I find it out.

  3. 3 scott
    December 24, 2007 at 11:56 pm

    hello everyone i am in atlanta and i am a georgia tech fan, he will be in good hands in the city of hotlanta. Georgia tech is a well known univ. and he will reach his nba status in the mighty acc.

  4. 4 scott
    December 24, 2007 at 11:58 pm

    You know georgia tech is really well known for putting out guards to the pros mark price, marbury, anderson , best and more

  5. 5 312chill
    December 28, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    I did know GT had a good track record of producing NBA guards. Also, I saw Iman play about two weeks ago. He’s on a whole different level than anyone else on the court. The most impressive part of his game, other than his athleticism which I assume most players will have at the next level, is his passing. No look laser passes were accurately flying out of his hands on a regular basis. His teammates were too slow to catch them and they usually bounced off of their hands, but with some better teammates I think Shumpert’s passing will be a great asset to GT.

  6. December 31, 2007 at 12:57 pm

    Uncle Tony was happy he chose GT. Coach is a remarkable man, and someone you would want to intrust your child with, knowing he will make sure he hits the books and work hard. I cannot wait to see him at Gt uniform. I’ll be at some of the home games coach.

  7. 7 312chill
    January 2, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Uncle Tony, I’m glad to hear that the coach will make sure Iman hits the books. Based on watching him and my limited experience of evaluating high school talent I believe he has a good shot at the nba, however an education is always an important fall back. I hope a good amount of the GT games are available on TV up here in Chicago.

  8. 8 Anonymous
    January 24, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Friends who played for coach allen in the 80s said he never taught anyone a thing — basically ignored hi-potential hard workers in favir of the guys w/ skills already that he could just coordinate rather than coach.

  9. 9 312chill
    January 25, 2008 at 8:56 am

    That doesn’t really surprise me. Hey, at least the announcers said on the televised OPRF game last night that Al is retiring from basketball coaching at the end of this season.


Leave a Reply

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Basketball Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

